Ssd possible in Intel SR1560 server

Hello everybody,

I am a mechanical engineering student, with not a lot of hardware and software experiance.
Yesterday ordered a used dual quad system, for running CFD simulations.

I am interested to know if i can put 1 or 2 ssd hard drives? and can i put them in a raid 1 or 0 config?

Do i need to know something about the sata controller or raid controller? to see if its supports ssd?

Maybe its really a silly question, because i dont see a lot of people asking it, but since the motherboard and processors are from 2007 i thought it could be a relevant issue.
(Although old i think its still quite powerfull (Intel SR1560 with 2 x 3GHz QuadCore Xeon cpus and 16 GB RAM ) for the price that i payed.)

according to the specs it has intel embeded Raid. if i check there fore something with ssd i dont find anything. Does that mean no support?

Thank you for any helpfull information in advance.

RS82
6 answers Last reply
More about intel sr1560 server
  1. you dont put ssd in raid right now do to losing trim funtion on the ssd. with the older chipset an ssd may run without issue if it a good ssd like intel or the 830. it wont run on 6g mode but it will be faster then standard hard drive.
  2. Thanks for the reply. but "may run" could be quite an expensive experiment. I would like to know what i have to check to be sure that it works? I understand that a physical test is the best, but i would like to know what specifications there are to check? if it doesnt work is it then only a matter, of a software update trought the bios of some sata or raid driver? or do i have to buy other hardware?

In the case the harddisk is compatible with older chipsets, what is the component that is restricting the speed? and how could i upgrade it? or do i have to get a whole new mainboard etc. ?

Thanks for any help.
  3. http://download.intel.com/support/motherboards/server/s5400sf/sb/s5400sf_tps_r2_02.pdf