Sign in with
Your question
Closed

PSU - Amps or Watts

Last response: in Components
September 24, 2010 3:36:03 AM

Questions for those wiser than I
I have been futzing around building systems for a couple years now. I have learned a lot but am still confused about PSU watts and Amps. I shop carefully and have read the guides on the topic here on this site. I have also read a few articles, some that are way over my head with mathematics that just make me tired.
Question; Why is a 750 watt PSU with 50 amps better than a 550 watt with 69 amps. I realize most people think more watts are better. I wonder if that is true and if it isn't why aren't amps more obviously advertised? On newegg I have to sometimes look at the picture to read the label.
I like an Antec PSU, the 550 basiq modular. It has 69 amps on 3 rails. It's hard to find that many amps on a 550. You need to get into the 750's to see that many amps.
In basic language can anyone tell me
A. should I be shopping Amps or watts?
B. Why?

More about : psu amps watts

September 24, 2010 3:41:49 AM

Watts=Volts*Amps

Since the important stuff is on the 12V rail, you take 12 and mutliply it by the amps on the rail. So 12*50=600Watts which does not equal 750W. Of course the 750W includes the 3V and 5V rails also.

12*69=828Watts. I would like to see that PSU if it's only advertised as a 550W.
Score
a b ) Power supply
September 24, 2010 3:48:00 AM

The watts are more obviously advertised so people making cheapo PSUs can advertise them at twice what they actually give out as the "Peak Power" rating or something.

You should be shopping for a quality PSU maker like antec, corsair, pc power and cooling, silverstone, xfx, ect first and then looking at the watts.
This will ensure that the PSUs actually put out the advertised watts.
Score
Related resources
September 24, 2010 4:18:56 AM

The UL plate on every PSU tells the whole story.

If you install a PSU with multiple 12V rails,
pay attention to the maximum amperage