Getting started questions

JPorem

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2010
I am a veteran of building individual PCs, have been for over a decade. Thing is now with my wife in the picture at home and having multiple computers where there wasn't before, I am seriously thinking of making a file share server and going to SSDs only in our primary machines.

I gotta be honest though I have never built a file-share server...

What types of technologies should I be looking at getting if I plan on building a stand-alone machine as a server?

I have 4 HDDs, so I am thinking of a RAID 5... Is that a good way to go with that few number? Would it be better to just do a RAID 1?

How critical is RAM? Should I just get a comfortable amount (~4GB) and call it a day?

What about mobos? Do I just want one with a solid ethernet controller, onboard video and be done with it or are there other factors that play a more critical role in a file server (I am converting my house to a dual-band n-wireless)?

What about the CPU? How critical is performance on the operation of the server? What aspects are most important... Cores? Speed? Do I want to invest in a higher end CPU or will getting a mid-level AMD be fine?

Thanks in advance for any answers you can provide. I am trying to better understand the thought process in approaching this problem.

Solution
There are 5 computers on my network at home. I use one to share a small amount of files that all computers can access. It is a Pentium 4 2GHz with 768MB of ram and windows XP (I intend to reduce the ram to 256mb). It also serves to download any files needed for access by all computers. If I need to download a file, I connect to the computer with VNC viewer and control it that way, no monitor needed, except for initial setup.