5TB MicroNet RAID Platinum Help

beradcee

Honorable
Oct 3, 2012
I need some help with my 5TB MicroNet RAID Platinum I am working on for a client.

It has 5, 1 TB Hard Drives. It is USB and Firewire compatible. You configure the RAID settings using a network cable and a browser.

I have tried to set up the drives using RAID 0 so I can see the entire 5TB as one partition and it says 5TB as storage as I set it up, but when I plug it in, I only see about 1.7 TB

There is an option that says "Greater than 2TB" and I says yes, but it still does not work, this option actually makes it only see 500 GB.

I tried this on XP 32-bit and 7 64-bit with the same results.

I am quite new to RAID so if anyone has some insight, it would be greatly appreciated.

sk1939

Distinguished
RAID 0 is stripe and only allows you to use 2 hard drives which is the problem (1TB + 1TB = 1.7TB total). If you are trying to see all the drives you need to SPAN the drives. I would recommend against either SPAN or RAID 0, as a drive failure will cost you all of your data. RAID 1+0, 5, or 6 would be better options.

Horribly incorrect.