Sign in with
Your question

Gaming comp, for next 3-4 years

Last response: in Systems
July 24, 2010 2:31:49 AM

Greetings,
I am customizing a computer with a reasonable budget about $1800 with the goal of ensuring (as best as possible) that I have a very high end computer for gaming for the next 3-4 yrs.
As background, I play mostly on-line games. As i'm a noob, I ran into the problem several years ago of purchasing a lot of ram but not running a 64 bit system which basically meant it was going to waste, so i'm hoping to not make the same mistakes this time around. Add'l info is that i'm not really looking into OCing my rig (as i'm too dumb to do it and want it to last a while).

With that said I would be very thankful of any advice that the community could offer.

I am contemplating:
i7-960 3.20ghz
6 gb 2x3 DDR3 1600 kingston hyperX
ATI Radeon HD 5970 2g GDDR5
Asus p6x58d-e intelx58 chipset SLI/CrossfireX Mainboard TriChannel DDR3/1600 sataIII...

Aside from your advice, my questions are: a mobo that ensures i'm utilizing what I have. Enough ram, would 12 do anything else? For gaming 3-4 years down the road, am i even going to see a diff between i7 930/960? That's about a $300 diff.

Thank you, and sorry in advance for my noobishness!

More about : gaming comp years

July 24, 2010 3:04:48 AM

seven777 said:
Greetings,
I am customizing a computer with a reasonable budget about $1800 with the goal of ensuring (as best as possible) that I have a very high end computer for gaming for the next 3-4 yrs.
As background, I play mostly on-line games. As i'm a noob, I ran into the problem several years ago of purchasing a lot of ram but not running a 64 bit system which basically meant it was going to waste, so i'm hoping to not make the same mistakes this time around. Add'l info is that i'm not really looking into OCing my rig (as i'm too dumb to do it and want it to last a while).

With that said I would be very thankful of any advice that the community could offer.