Problems with New Build - Graphics/ AutoCAD Workstation

jiroband

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2011
I’m working on my first build (a graphics & AutoCAD workstation); I’m having problems; and I’m lost. Since I’m new at this, I’m not sure if I’ve got a hardware or software issue, and I’m not sure what to try next. I’ve done multiple searches for information, which have been unsuccessful. My list of components are at the end of this post.

My problems are:

1. I need to press the “ON” button 2 or 3 times to get the system to start. I’ve discovered that pressing the button once causes the lights on my keyboard to flash on for a moment, and my laser mouse is then powered up. No fans, or lights on the motherboard go on. I have not discovered any real consistency as to the need for a second versus third press of the “ON” button. I’ve pressed it once and waited nearly an hour, but it will not start without another press. My latest observation seems to indicate that pressing slowly requires only 2 presses, while pressing quickly requires 3. (Some sort of delay?)

I’m wondering if it may be some kind of power setting, or sleep/ wake setting in BIOS, although I didn’t notice the problem until I installed the Gigabyte Utilities DVD.

2. The system takes longer to boot and start Windows 7 than I thought it would -- about 50 seconds. I thought it would take about 5-10 seconds. Does 50 seconds seem about right, or is there something I can do to speed it up? (I enabled “Quick Boot” under BIOS.) I have not updated/ flashed BIOS, as I am concerned about really messing something up.