New Desktop Pricing Assistance

bruin101

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2010
Hi guys:

I'm new to tomshardware but this seemed like a good forum for computer assistance. My Mac laptop is going on 4 years old and I am going to need to replace it soon I feel. I leaning towards a Windows 7 desktop because I'll be out of college and won't need the portability as much. I also enjoy gaming and figured a nice PC would complement my 23in Samsung LED monitor I got for my xbox 360.

This is what I have roughly created for $740:
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 925 2.8ghz
AMD Heatsink/Fan
ASUS motherboard, standard
RAM: 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz
HD: 750GB 7200rpm
Optical: 22x LG SATA Dual layer DVD+-RW
Graphics Card: 1GB ATI Radeon 5750
Power: 550 watt stock supply

How would you guys rate this computer with regards to both performance, and it's value for $740? Are there parts I should exchange around to get better performance for similar cost? I noticed AMD chips are MUCH cheaper than Intel...are Intel significantly better or is it just their larger name/marketing? Should I add a cheap sound card? I have heard a new round of Nvidia cards are coming out soon...so should I hold off and get one of those instead? It's not an emergency to buy a PC right now.
Source: this was using eCollegePC, a website recommended to me by a fraternity brother who loves his computer from them.

Pretty decent.

Intel CPUs/motherboards are more expensive because well... it's Intel. They have a faster architecture although the Phenom IIs perform decently enough, and it's also to do with marketing.

Sound cards... not really worth it with a ~$750 budget.

You would be better making your own... but it's up to you. It's actually not a bad PC for an OEM... normally they stick an i7 930 and unbalance it severely with an HD 5570 or something but this looks alright.

bruin101

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2010