totostoys

Honorable
Oct 4, 2012
so i'm a newbie to pc builds and toms hardware and was wondering if it is possible to raid 0+1 on different brands/sizes/build so that essentially i have the speed of a three way raid 0 and then have the raid 0 copy itself to a single hard drive. so essentially i have three main questions:

Firstly:
Can a raid work in conjunction with another raid?

Secondly:
Do all the hard drives involved in a RAID have to be the same model, size and/or type (eg ssd, hdd)?

Lastly:
If they don't have to be the same model, size and/or type, would i be able to set up 3x 128 gb ssd's that are exactly the same in raid 0 (to increase the performance) and then have that raid 0 in Raid 1 with a single (obviously large enough to support the 3 combined storage of the ssd's) HDD (or ssd if necessary) of a potentially different brand so that i have the contents of the raid 0 backed up onto a single hard drive (or ssd) that is not necessarily the same brand, size and type of hard disk.

Thanks.

Solution
If you are thinking about doing this with SSDs -- don't. Improved benchmarks will not give you a noticeable real world performance improvement.

While it is recommended to use the same model, size, and even firmware revision when building a RAID array, it is not required.

If you RAID two unequal size drives in RAID 0 you end up with an array twice the size of the smallest drive. If you mirror drives in RAID 1, you get only a mirror the size of the smaller drive or array.

Much of what you can do depends on the RAID controller that you are using. For example the Adaptec 6 series cards also supports RAID 1E where you can get by with only three disks instead of the 4 that are required by 10 -- what it does is stripe the data across all...

RealBeast

Titan
If you are thinking about doing this with SSDs -- don't. Improved benchmarks will not give you a noticeable real world performance improvement.