Sign in with
Your question

Upgrade 4GB to 8GB or 12GB

Tags:
Last response: in Memory
May 11, 2011 6:20:22 PM

I currently have 2X2GB sticks on my PC running as dual channel in my ASUS P7P55 LX motherboard.

I have a lot of background apps open such as backup, teamviewer for ipad, print server, air video for iPad, norton 360, etc and my RAM Usage stays at 50% most of the time.

I am wanting to upgrade but wondering if I should go for 2X2GB sticks or 2X4GB sticks?

If I get 2X4GB sticks, I will have 12GB altogether.

I only use my PC for browsing the net, work and itunes, etc, but I also encode and burn DVDs here and then.

So, will I notice a difference upgrading, and should I upgrade to 8GB or 12GB?

I am swaying towards 8GB as its cheaper but 12 GB ram sound cool, but I am guessing it is just overkill.

These are the items I am currently considering:

For 4GB: G-Skill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX Memory Kit CL8 (8-8-8-24) 1.5V

For 8GB: G-Skill 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX Memory Kit CL9 (9-9-9-24) 1.5V which is £70

More about : upgrade 4gb 8gb 12gb

May 11, 2011 6:51:04 PM

Also, my current ram is Geil 1333MHz afail running in dual channel mode. Would it cause problems if I was to get RAM of a different brand and higher specs and add the pair to the remaining two RAM slots?
May 11, 2011 7:01:11 PM

8GB should be enough. Check this article by THG.

Don't mix, but match the RAM! If you mix DDR3-1333 with DDR3-1600, it'll all run at 1333. And may crash if the timings are different (i.e. 8-8-8-24 & 9-9-9-27)

Get the 8GB kit, and ditch your 4GB.
Related resources
May 11, 2011 7:17:09 PM

foscooter said:
8GB should be enough. Check this article by THG.

Don't mix, but match the RAM! If you mix DDR3-1333 with DDR3-1600, it'll all run at 1333. And may crash if the timings are different (i.e. 8-8-8-24 & 9-9-9-27)

Get the 8GB kit, and ditch your 4GB.

Really? I am quite upset. My PC is only about 8-10 months old.