Sign in with
Your question

Suitable Motherboard for a Corei5 2500?

Last response: in Motherboards
May 12, 2011 3:44:40 AM

Quick question! Can someone please suggest a good motherboard that is within the $270 range? I am a complete newbie and I tried going through Asus's ROG website and am completely confused about where to look for the board that would suit a Corei5 2500 Processor! Please Help!
May 12, 2011 1:52:22 PM

do you have that processor or willing to buy
m
l
May 15, 2011 12:29:35 PM

manu 11 said:
do you have that processor or willing to buy

I haven't made a firm decision, but I might go for the Corei5 2500k coz it can be overclocked :) 
m
l
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
a b Ĉ ASUS
May 15, 2011 7:20:05 PM

Surely get the i5 2500k.. As for the board and staying with Asrock, i'll suggest the Asrock Z68 Extreme4..
m
l
May 15, 2011 8:00:23 PM

Emperus said:
Surely get the i5 2500k.. As for the board and staying with Asrock, i'll suggest the Asrock Z68 Extreme4..

Emperus Is there a reason you suggest the Z68 over the P67? I have been considering the a Z68 board also but not totally sure what the true benefit would/might be. My big hope would be that they worked out some off those P67 kinks. It would also be nice to have backup video just incase the soon to be mine Radeon 6950 goes down. My P67 system would have a 120gb SSd for OS and Apps along with a 1TB HDD for storage.

Would it be worth it or wise to have dedicated SSD(120gb) for operating system +programs and then a small SSD(30gb) coupled with a Large HDD(1tb) if using the Z68. I have been told is they way to go. My new system will be used for Gaming, photo and video editing, streaming vid, surf and I would imaging Bluray. Will be using the i7-2600K cpu
m
l
a b V Motherboard
May 15, 2011 9:16:09 PM