• Homebuilt
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
a b B Homebuilt system
July 25, 2010 8:35:45 AM

Hi guys, first post. :) 

I haven’t built a computer in 12 years, but think I can still do it if needed. I also thought about buying something prebuilt (seems like this still sucks though), but don't know. Seeing as I'm lost, thought I'd ask you.

USE:

I’ve been a Mac only guy for about 10 years now, but I’m slowly being forced to upgrade my PPC Macs to Intel ones. However, even used a 3 or 4 year old Mac is like $1,200ish and new ones are a lot more. As much as I love the OS, I just can’t drop the coin anymore.

I work in the creative field, so I will be using Adobe’s Indesign, Photoshop and Dreamweaver mostly (along with normal Internet stuff any computer can do). All of these are running just fine on an old Mac G5 1.8ghz w/ 4 gigs ram right now, so I'm not doing anything that's absolutely ridiculous.

Games are very, very rare. In fact, the only game I plan on playing is Civilization V when it comes out. :) 

Don't care if the system last for years or not. I'm fine with spending less right now and building a new system in 12 months or so.

More info . . .

System OS: I'm going to use Windows 7 64-bit

Purchase Date: Within the coming 7-10 days

Budget Range: I want to stay within $500 - $600 (excluding OS if needed)

Parts Not Required: Monitors, keyboard, mouse

Preferred Sites for Parts: NewEgg.com, Amazon.com, Frys (live by one) or anything highly reputable.

Parts Prefs: None really. I'd like to do Intel, but I'm open to AMD I think.

Overclocking: Never messed with it, so no clue.

Display:
*I use dual monitors*
First one is using 1360x768 right now.
Second is using 1680 x 1050

I have no idea where to start. I did see the Radeon 5770 graphics card, which looked good as I’d like DVI out (HDMI would be cool too). Don’t know what model to buy either.