Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading from Nvidia 9500GS

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 18, 2010 2:12:01 AM

Hello, all!

I'm fairly new to the whole part-swapping scene, and I'm humbly presenting my current state of affairs to see if I can't get some help with deciding what I should do with my current rig.

I'm running on an HP Pavillion m9340f. I'm sporting Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6700 @ 2.66 Ghz with 6 gigs of RAM and I'm using Windows 64-bit Vista. It's all being powered by a 350W unit, as well.

Unfortunately, my Nvidia 9500GS is falling far behind in terms of graphical output with the 2005-present generation(s) of games. It's no longer bearable with everything turned down to where the "mind blowning graphics" are reduced to blobby pixles and mere shadows of what they could be.

My question is simply this: What should I be looking for to suit my needs? I realize my power supply is probably far too low to run some of these high-end video cards I see nowadays. However, is there a large upgrade available to me that is within the bounds of my current capabilities?

Thanks so much!
a c 235 U Graphics card
June 18, 2010 2:23:03 AM

for around $100 look to the ATI 5670, it will give you very good results at 1440x900

for around $125 look at the ATI 5750, it will give you very good results at 1680x1050
m
l
June 18, 2010 2:28:43 AM

Good deal, CT.

However, is there anything that I could find or research that would lean moreso 1920X1200 resolution performance? I understand that that may be asking a lot given my current hardware, but I'd like to stay at my native resolution if I could. If not, that's fine. I'm desperate beyond measure here.

One more choppy-blocky playthrough of (insert nearly any title here) and I'll rage. =P
m
l
Related resources
a c 235 U Graphics card
June 18, 2010 2:46:41 AM

well the ATI 5770 would give good performance at 1920x1200, while the ATI 5850 would be the "ideal" choice offering very good performance.