Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Building a computer

Last response: in Components
September 28, 2010 8:01:15 PM

Hey,

This is my first time trying to build a computer ... I'm learning as I go.

I surf the internet receive / send 5,000+ emails a day and store 12,000 + songs in my i tunes.

I need suggestions on components that work well together and give me what I need!!

* Motherboard
* CPU
* RAM
* Hard Drive
* CD / DVD
* Video
* Power Supply
* Network Card
* Sound Card
Websites and or responses.
Any suggestions would help :) 
thanks!!

No Price Limit - I'll spend what ever I have to, to make what I want.

More about : building computer

September 28, 2010 8:55:23 PM

Post your query in the 'Systems' section.. You can ask any of the moderators to move this thread to the appropriate section..
m
l

Best solution

September 29, 2010 1:32:56 AM

If thats all you do then you dont need much at all.

* Motherboard - Name brand - asus, gigabyte, msi are the three I choose between usually. I use an Asus M4A785TD-V EVO in my HTPC (about the same system I'm spec-ing here) and it even handles many games fine. Web games like facebook are a breeze. This even plays Wow on reduced settings. Notice this board has dedicated video memory.

* CPU - recommending an athlonII x3 445. I dont think you even need this much power but its at a great price point IMO.

* RAM - 3gb dual channel 1333 ( 4 if you want but then you should use 64bit os) The DDR and ECC must match what the motherboard needs. Ex: The Asus board I use uses DDR3 up to 1800 but 1800 and 1600 is OC (overclocked) and 1333 is stock speed. I got 1600 speed non-ecc unbuffered ddr3 (EEC is mainly for servers)
This is the kit I purchased: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

* Hard Drive - dual 1samsung spinpoint F3 drives. 1 as main, 1 as backup. (these are on sale at newegg right now for ~$58) Dual to keep all that music stored safely.

* CD / DVD - any 5egg SATA dvd burner