Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Hand me down parts, what should I do with them?

Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
a b B Homebuilt system
July 27, 2010 2:00:25 PM

So I think I've made a posting regarding this before, but I don't recall the answers I received, so I will ask again. About 2 months ago I inherited some parts from my little buddy's build. He was having some headaches with it so we swapped parts and now he seems OK. Anyhow I snagged a Q9650, a Asus P5Q Deluxe and 4 GB of Corsair XMS2 (with the dual heat exchanger fin). I know the death knell has rung for the 775 platform and we've all moved on to the 1156 and 1366 platforms and this CPU isn't a "top tier" performer any more. It gets owned by the i7 lineup and if I remember right AMD had the PII 965 squarely aimed at this puppy.

Now I have had some experience with Intel C2Q's in the past. I had a Q8200 but that CPU wasn't very good for over clocking. Anyhow, I have some Patriot memory laying around (8 GB, 4x2 GB) 1066Mhz Viper II and a couple of 4770's and a spare case (a older Raidmax Smilodon, I swapped the PSU to a 500W Thermaltake PurePower) And I have a couple of hard drives. A Sata I 74GB Raptor 10K RPM and a Hitatchi Desk Star 500 GB drive.

I was thinking about installing Windows 7 Pro 64 and using it as a entry/mid level gaming machine. But the rub is that I already have a i5 750 with 4 GB of DDR3, a 4890, and three WD drives (1TB Black, 1TB Green, 320GB Blue Laptop drive) and a Leo platform (1055T, 890GX board, 5850 Black Edition, etc.) so I don't know if I should use this C2Q as a video editing machine (I do some HD youtube stuff, or at least I had in the past) or a Linux box (but 8 GB seems like overkill for Linux).