idjlee96

Distinguished
May 6, 2011
So I have been looking into building a tower for the first time. I had my mindset on a p67 mobo, but I was recently introduced to the Z68. Which apparently is a mobo that allows for both the OC capability and the Onboard graphics of the SB intel CPU.

I was originally planning on getting a gpu, but looking at it now, I think I might save up a little more money, use the onboard graphics card for now, and then purchase a higher end GPU later. I also heard there is a way to run both the onboard and a seperate GPU at the same time for better Graphics performance.

I would just like some experts opinions on the choice I should make, and perhaps recommend me a decent Mobo, whether it be a Z68 and P67.

Also, I am pretty sure z68 is fairly new, does that mean that it will have little support and knowledge out there about the Bios and firmware and whatnot. Being a first time builder, I could use all the support I can get.

Once again, I am just wondering if a Z68 is worth it, and whether my plan to use the Onboard GPU first will work or not.
Also, looking for recommendations. Thanks :)

Cheers
-Isaac-

chesteracorgi

Distinguished
If you want to get, and use on chip graphics for now and a GPU later and do not intend to overclock (now or in the future) you can also consider the H67 series of mobos. The H67 will use either the native graphics on the sandybridge chip, but there will be no CPU overclocking.

As far as support I'd recommend the Z68 chipset as it appears to be the new mainstream and will not be orphaned too soon. The H67 and P67 will have pleanty of support, but the future is with the Z68.

Good mobo manufacturers are ASRock, ASUS, Gigabyte, MSI, Intel and Biostar. There are others, like Saphire, ECS EVGA and Zotec, but they don't seem to have the market share to instill too much confidence. Not saying that there is anything wrong with their products, but I'd go with one of the majors.

jbakerlent

Distinguished