I just recently put this rig together. Few hours ago actually

Antec 650 Earthwatts PSU
GTX 460
i5-760
EVGA P55 V
G.SKILL ECO Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) Model F3-10666CL8D-4GBECO
A DVD drive and a Harddrive
Got a cool Antec tricool fan in there too

Anyway. Everything booted okay, and everything runs well. BUT things got a little hot earlier. I'm using CoreTemp to monitor CPU temp. CPU idled at about 42C. Doing normal tasks it was running around 50-60. When running windows experience index it hit 70. I thought all was good, idle CPU temps where a bit high but yeah.
So i started playing Final Fantasy 14 on it. It was playing around 70C which i thought was okay. After about an hour though it ran to the 80's. And after playing some cutscenes i saw the temps in the upper 90's. One of the cores hit 98C.
That's when i decided to shut it off.
I took out the heatsink to reapply and make sure the Arctic Silver 5 was on there evenly, and it was all good. And i noticed that my fan was blowing air away from the heatsink, iunno why. Thought that was weird. I guess air suction cools it down a bit but i thought air blowing across it would be better. So i positioned the heatsink to where it sucks air from one of my other fans while that fan is blowing air on it. After doing that, reapplying the paste and repositioning everything i'm looking at temps of

Core 0: 37
Core 1: 32
Core 2: 38
Core 3: 31

Temps are more uneven then before but they are cooler. I dare try Final Fantasy again, though i will but. How on earth did my CPU get that high after being all good for a few hours? Is Final Fantasy 14 that CPU intensive?
My temps seem to fluctuate pretty fast btw. like once it was on 98C while on Final Fantasy after i closed it 6 seconds later it was back at 66C And like even now i would go on and off from 38-44 in a matter of seconds then back down to 38-37 once whatever task i have stops loading.

This is my HeatSink btw.