Help a Mac guy out?

rjs5689

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2010
I hope I've come to the right place for this. I'm a Mac guy right now, but I'm not sure I want to buy another one. I'm in my last year of college, and think I want to buy a desktop when I'm settled in and no longer need a laptop. I use a unibody MacBook Pro to do my video editing on in Final Cut. I also use Light Room for photo editing and Photoshop for some things. Lately I've been getting more and more frustrated with my Apple products. I've been looking into going with a custom built PC, which will deliver me more performance, for less money. I had one several years ago from iBuypower and it was pretty good.

I've been thinking of going with an AMD Phenom II X6 (non-black edition, I don't think I want to mess with overclocking,) and nVidia graphics (possibly SLI?) I'm still a newbie in the world of PCs. I'm not sure how to pick exactly which comments I want, and properly pair them with a motherboard. I guess I'm looking for some general advice from people who know these components better.

Thanks everyone

Hellboy

Distinguished
Jun 1, 2007

AMD are just about to go Bulldozer in the not to distant future so i personally would wait for that..

its not too far away and Intel have just about to release Sandy Bridge Processors.

ATI has a new 6000 card on its way which will blow away nvidia.

Go for a 64 bit OS with 8gb of ram or more. youll need 12 if you got for a I-7 9 series processor.

DDR 3 16666 ram if not higher.

get atleast a 850watt PSU and a Coolermaster case

you could go SSD Drives and have a 2TB for storage. - speed increase is high...

try and go for Sata 3 devices as they have just started to make a appearence.

Motherboard brand is either Asus or Gigabyte - both make excellent reliable boards but dont scrimp on these, pay the extra money to get a decent one :)

a 24 inch Samsung is a good screen

rjs5689

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2010