Sign in with
Your question

[New Build] Tear It Apart

Last response: in Systems
July 29, 2010 6:03:05 AM

Hope I put this in the right section and everything. If I didn't, it's my bad. I thought I understood where it needed to go.

So I decided I wanted to build a gaming computer. Nothing to fancy, but at the same time I want it to be able to play today's most demanding games without too much trouble. Basically I used TigerDirect and a bunch of random reviews from this site and many others to choose my parts, then I used one of my special price finders to get a quote on what it would cost me to gather the pieces together. Overall, I think I got a decent rig lined up, it's only costing around $1,232. With some of the prices I found I could probably find better parts for just a small jump in cost. Anyways, down to the meat n potatoes.

I'm new to this and although I know about computers, people here make me look nubby. So I wanted someone to tear apart my build so I knew what was compatible and what not. Basically, I want to feel safe in building this computer. So if you guys here could do me the honors, I'll go ahead and toss out the specs.

Computer Case - Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced
Processor - Intel Core i7 930
Graphics - 2x Diamond Radeon HD 5770 (Crossfire)
Motherboard - ASUS P6X58D-E
Power Supply - Ultra LSP650 (Not necessary, but can't go wrong with 200 extra watts.)
Memory - Corsair XMS3 Triple-Channel 6GB 1600Mhz
Hard Drive - Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200RPM 6.0Gb/s SATA
Disk Drive - Lite-On IHAS124-04
Speakers - Cyber Acoustics CA-3698
Monitor - LG L227WTG
Keyboard/Mouse - Iogear GKM502