Solved

Which PSU is better?

I'm planing to upgrade my video card pretty soon to a GTX 460, but first I want to get a PSU, here are my computer's specs:
AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ 90nm (planing to upgrade to a phenom II dual core in the not so near future, I think these consume less power than 90nm athlons but I'm not an expert)
4GB DDR2
1 DVD Burner
1 HDD
And here are the two PSUs I'm looking at, the reviews on both look good but I'd like a second opinion:
LOGISYS Computer PS575XBK 575W ATX12V SLI Ready Power Supply

hec HP585D RETAIL 585W ATX12V Power Supply - Power Cord Included

I know the second one only has one pci-e connection but I don't mind getting a molex to pci-e adapter.
26 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about which better
  1. Both are bad.

Youd rather get this 430W Corsair for $26AR: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139017&cm_re=Corsair_PSU-_-17-139-017-_-Product

However that is not a balanced computer, the Athlon is going to bottleneck the 460 by quite a bit.
  2. Don't cheap out on the psu buy a well regarded model from a quality manufacturer.
    I would buy this if budget is tight.
    CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W -$59.99/$49.99 after mir
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139004
  3. Do you think 430 W would be enough to power the system I want? I think there must be something I don't know about PSUs.

Yeah I was pretty sure the Athlon wouldn't let the 460 GTX reach its full potential but thats why I'll upgrade to a Phenom II after I upgrade the video card.
  4. Best answer
    Jorge89 said:
    Do you think 430 W would be enough to power the system I want? I think there must be something I don't know about PSUs.

Yeah I was pretty sure the Athlon wouldn't let the 460 GTX reach its full potential but thats why I'll upgrade to a Phenom II after I upgrade the video card.

The 460 uses 150W, and your whole system should not peak over 300W on full load.