What to keep on SSD? Gaming

gravytrain

Honorable
Oct 7, 2012
I built my new gaming rig and it's working perfectly, I installed everything onto my SSD so far though and I'm running out of space. I basically only want my OS and all my games on the SSD and all my music and other stuff on my hard drive. What folders can I safely move over to the hard drive? (I don't know where the OS folder is lol I'm a noob, but I know where my games are).

Edit: Also, what about startup programs? Should I keep them on SSD?

What size SSD do you have? It will not hurt to have your games on the other hard drive because the only thing that a SSD does for a game is load the map faster and the actual gameplay is not afected by the SSD. What does affect the gameplay is the video card , the cpu and your network connection.
Prices of SSDs are getting lower and with rebates , sales , Black Friday and Christmas you can easily save some more money and get a second SSD for your games. You can pick up a SSD of 120gb for under $100 easy and it would hold 10 games easy.

gravytrain

Honorable
Oct 7, 2012

I have a Samsung 830 Series 128gb SSD with a western digital 1tb hard drive.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147134

$140 and you can have a seperate SSD just to load your games on and then you'll have them at the same speed as the primary drive. It's just an option to think about and I did the same thing as I have two Samsung 830 SSDs with a bunch of stuff on the second one including the games. The one thing that I do and is different from a lot of people is that I don't let the bang for the buck and the best price and all those other slogans that a lot of people go with, I just look at what I want to do with my computer and I do it nd if it cost a little more then so what I'm not running a buisness where I have to account for expenses.

gravytrain

Honorable
Oct 7, 2012