Sign in with
Your question

What to keep on SSD? Gaming

Last response: in Storage
October 15, 2012 2:07:41 AM

I built my new gaming rig and it's working perfectly, I installed everything onto my SSD so far though and I'm running out of space. I basically only want my OS and all my games on the SSD and all my music and other stuff on my hard drive. What folders can I safely move over to the hard drive? (I don't know where the OS folder is lol I'm a noob, but I know where my games are).

Edit: Also, what about startup programs? Should I keep them on SSD?

More about : ssd gaming

a b 4 Gaming
a c 119 G Storage
October 15, 2012 2:32:00 AM

What size SSD do you have? It will not hurt to have your games on the other hard drive because the only thing that a SSD does for a game is load the map faster and the actual gameplay is not afected by the SSD. What does affect the gameplay is the video card , the cpu and your network connection.
Prices of SSDs are getting lower and with rebates , sales , Black Friday and Christmas you can easily save some more money and get a second SSD for your games. You can pick up a SSD of 120gb for under $100 easy and it would hold 10 games easy.
m
l
October 15, 2012 2:43:24 AM

inzone said:
What size SSD do you have? It will not hurt to have your games on the other hard drive because the only thing that a SSD does for a game is load the map faster and the actual gameplay is not afected by the SSD. What does affect the gameplay is the video card , the cpu and your network connection.
Prices of SSDs are getting lower and with rebates , sales , Black Friday and Christmas you can easily save some more money and get a second SSD for your games. You can pick up a SSD of 120gb for under $100 easy and it would hold 10 games easy.

I have a Samsung 830 Series 128gb SSD with a western digital 1tb hard drive.
m
l
Related resources
October 15, 2012 3:58:02 AM

I just don't know which folders I can move to the hard drive without interfering with programs