Connecting to router over internet

natas_heresy

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2010
hi i have configured my router to accept my ISP IP address under "remote administrator" in router settings .(over the internet remotely) but i can only ping it over the internet, i cant use telnet or anything. im a bit of newbie really. how do i connect to the router? do i use web browsing or telnet? and if i wanted to just access a computer behind the router with VPN software how would i do that? cause the computers behind the router have DHCP class C static IP addresses, so with the VPN destination settings, do i type the PCs static address? or the routers internet IP? and if i entered the INternet IP, then wouldnt that be to vague since there are numerous computers behind the router. i know, im a newbie, but id appreciate some good tutorial links, or your own clear instructions. il love you long time. :D

MIKE

One of the slickest, easiest, and most flexible ways to do remote access is using LogMeIn Hamachi. Don’t be intimidated by the product because it sounds far more complex than it really is.

What it does is install a virtual network adapter under Network Connections and assigns it an IP address in the 5.x.x.x range. That remains your IP address permanently. Now you create a named network (or multiple named networks if you have the need) and have that computer (and any other computers you want to communicate with) JOIN that network. So imagine Hamachi installed on your home PC and a laptop. You have each JOIN the “MikesHomeNetwork” network (assuming the name isn’t already in use) and whalla, you’re both connected over the 5.x.x.x network via your respective IPs. Now you can do ANYTHING you like between those machines over a secure connection (RDP, VNC, HTTP, FTP, Telnet, share files and printers, etc.).