What's the best/most reliable brand for servers?

yannifb

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2009
Im in the need for a server for a large database, and have a budget of about $6000. Would i need as many cores as possible for a database? And what OEM is best for servers (Dell, HP, IBM, etc)?

EDIT: Also, what OS is best for databases?

Im new to servers so help is appreciated.

http://h10018.www1.hp.com/wwsolutions/selector/index_server.html

http://www-07.ibm.com/systems/au/express/servers/

Try to get as much RAM as possible.

An insufficient amount of RAM can cause your SQL server to continually read data from disk instead of cached memory.

This will impact on query performance in most cases this impact will be significant. Having an appropriate amount of memory will allow SQL Server to process your queries more efficiently: it can hold more data in its cache

CPU choice is easier ... The Opteron quad cores are cheap at present - you want as many cores as you can get for the buck (so a 2 socket system is probably your budget limit), even to sacrifice on clockspeed.

Look at putting at least 3 drives in it, in a suitable RAID configuration.

Disk Drives and Disk Space

When planning your SQL Server Hardware Requirements it is important to remember that database applications can extremely Input/Output intensive.

Most senior SQL Server DBA’s would recommend using fast SCSI drives and quality disk controllers (or if you have no budgetary restrictions a SAN environment).

If you want redundancy and fault tolerance you should consider using RAID. To quote from Microsoft "The different Levels of RAID provide varying levels of performance and fault tolerance. Hardware based RAIDS provides more performance that Operating System RAID".
Some of the characteristics of RAID can be seen in the table below:

RAID level Description Characteristics
RAID 0 Disk Striping/ No Parity Excellent performance – Negative fault tolerance