Computer settings for healthiest working environment ?

andy55

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2009
Hi guys,

I'm a freelancer graphic designer & due to excessive work load i'm under lot of stress. I cannot work any longer, I've developed high blood pressure, feeling numbness in my left hand, muscle twitching & many other small inexplicable things. I'm assuming that i might have developed these problems due to radiations emitted by monitor. Basically its a stress born out of computer, this much i'm very sure.

Now i'm looking for solution whereby i can sit at long distance from computer & still be able to work. May be projecting it on wall or getting ultra big monitor so that i can sit at least 8 ft away from it. Please help me guys to overcome this problem, i'm so worried, there's so much work pending & i'm unable to work. Pls help.

Thanks
Andy

First off... I'm no expert but I think you should see your doctor.

A projector isn't a bad idea, you could also get a wireless keyboard and mouse which would allow you to sit far back from the monitor/projection.

I would recommend you take regular brakes, maybe 10minutes every hour and drink alot of water. :)

andy55

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2009
Thnx omgitzfatal, weeamish for your kind words. I'll surely work on these tips. Thnx again.

Can someone suggest me as in how to get 'sharp images' if i work from distance. Is there anyone already working with this kind of setup.?

andy55

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2009
Thnx for the link omgitzfatal. Its a nice option. right now with 17" monitor i'm sitting at little less than one arm distance, 30" will though double the distance but will that be enough. ?

@ mactronix - may be yes i can use it but i think large monitors or projectors with good luminance wud be better option. isn't it ?

You should definitely be further away than that from your monitor, about 2-3 meters would be alot better, I know if I sit to close to my TV/monitor for awhile, my eyes start to hurt and I get a headache.