Old CPU running a little hot

jujumbura

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2008
Hello all,

I have a machine at home that I have been using in various forms for about 4 years. During its lifespan I have replaced the motherboard, the power supply, and some of the memory, due to bad parts or just plain upgrading. All-in-all it still runs pretty well, except for one thing: the CPU seems to be a bit hotter than it should, and I can hear the fan continually spinning up and down when it idles.

The processor is a Core2 Duo 6600 and as I write this ( running nothing but IE ), RealTemp reports it as having one core at 68-70 C, the other at 65-69 C. This is pretty much the way it always is, but I have seen them get to 72 C when running games. ( The GPU reads at about 74 C )

I don't remember when exactly this problem started; it may have been when I reseated the processor onto the replaced motherboard. But in any case, it has been running like this for at least 2 years. I have never overclocked the processor, it is running at stock speeds with the stock fan. At one point ( ~1.5 years ago ) I suspected that I had screwed up the thermal paste, so I scraped it off and replaced it with some fresh arctic silver, following the instructions as closely as I could. I seem to recall that it made a difference, but I'm not sure what temps it initially read.

So here's what I'm wondering:

- Is this a problem? It's been running like this for a long time, should I bother poking around with it?

- If yes to above, what should I start with? Reseating the processor, reapplying thermal paste? Blowing out CPU/GPU fans? Blowing out case fans?

Thanks much for any advice!

Solution
First of all it is not the end of the world...your CPU can survive worst.
About the temps....
Can you test your temps at idle (make sure it is idle via task manager) vs full load with programs like prime or better EVEREST Ultimate. You can download it from http://www.lavalys.com/support/downloads