Sign in with
Your question

Why do Cases cost $30~200??

Last response: in Components
October 4, 2010 6:15:57 PM

I'm new to computer building and I was just wondering why cases have such a huge price difference.

What is better about a more expensive case?

More about : cases cost 200

October 4, 2010 6:22:44 PM

Build quality, ease of use, airflow and cooling capabilities, air filtering or the lack of, cable management, and aesthetics, just to name a few
a c 104 ) Power supply
October 4, 2010 7:11:34 PM

I feel its similar to most comsumer items,
you can buy a decent pair of jeans for £10 or a named pair for £160, up to a point there is a quality difference but after a point its just the tag your buying.
its what people are prepared to pay so they charge it.
Moto
Related resources
a b ) Power supply
October 4, 2010 7:53:25 PM

Motopsychojdn said:
I feel its similar to most comsumer items,
you can buy a decent pair of jeans for £10 or a named pair for £160, up to a point there is a quality difference but after a point its just the tag your buying.
its what people are prepared to pay so they charge it.
Moto

Ok,

$30 case:

$200 case:

Notice a difference? Build quality, cooling, cable management, size, bottom mounted PSU, innovative and helpful features, CPU backplate cutout, E-ATX, tool less...I could go on. Granted, not everybody needs a $200 case for those reasons, 95% of people are fine with their generic HP or Dell case. But for the 5% who want their features, they are the ones who want that. I personally think that the $60-140 market is where some of the best cases are:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

those are just several that come to mind as the best value enthusiast cases in that price range. Beyond that, its MOSTLY just getting bigger cases.
October 4, 2010 7:58:54 PM

Coolermaster have got a decent stake in the market i think at the moment for decent mid to high ranged cases.

HAF 912, 922, 932, HAF-X
Storm Scout