[New Build] Moderately Priced i7 930 Build

jello24

Distinguished
Aug 1, 2010
Hey guys, I'm a first time builder that needs opinions before purchasing components. I've already bought the Core i7 930, so now I just have to build around it. I'm looking for parts that are proven to be great parts, but don't break the bank. All the parts I currently list are reviewed on various sites on the internet, as well as on the retailer site. Also, the CPU cooler I hope to buy can't be as big as those TRUE heatsinks. Space is an issue in my case.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Sunday, Aug. 1, probably by 8pm PT

BUDGET RANGE: $800 - $1100, the lower the better, but I can pay for quality to a point

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3 (in the future) - 50%, Videos, internet, productivity 50%

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor, Sound, Network, OS, Case

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: exclusively NCIX.com for local pickup

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Vancouver, BC

PARTS PREFERENCES: Highly recommended parts. No obscure parts that no one knows about.

OVERCLOCKING: Yes, in a couple of months.

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Crossfire once money allows. 2x 4850 sounds like a good plan for the future.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Currently 1280x768

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I really need help on that RAM. I'm not 100% sure it will work. Also, my current case is 16.5" x 7.5" x 18" so any massive parts will probably not work.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My proposed build:
CPU: Intel Core i7 930
Cooler: Noctua NH-C12P SE14 - NCIX page
Mobo: EVGA X58 Micro mATX LGA1366 DDR3 - NCIX page
RAM: Corsair XMS3 TR3X6G1333C9 6GB - NCIX page
GFX Card: Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850 - NCIX page
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB SATA2 - NCIX page
Power Supply: Corsair TX750W 750W ATX - NCIX page
Optical: Samsung SH-S223C 22X DVD Writer SATA - NCIX page