CPU swap in a Dell C521

racingzone

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2010
Hello all,

Newbie here. But always hanged around the site. Im sure some of the computer gurus can help.

Has anyone swap a Dell™ Dimension™ C521AMD Sempron AM2 CPU to AMD Athlon LE-1640 2.7GHz Socket AM2 512Kb Cache?

Is this swap possible? Are both compatible at all? We have this old Dell C521 and want to do diy the swap. We just want to run it a little faster and they sell these cheap at the moment. What do I need to do swapping CPU? How hard it is doing this? I done some minor upgrades like memory and dedicated gpu but not a cpu swap. Is it worth the trouble becasue I dont want to mess up my gf only working pc. Any help appreciated.

I posted this on another forum to get a wider response. I hope this is alright.

Cheers

Racingzone

If you are gonna swap anything in there put an Athlon 64 x2 they will work in your motherboard no problem and would be the best upgrade choice. I doubt you will see too much of a difference but, it will be faster none the less.

racingzone

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2010
Thanks for the reply buddy. I did read that the C521 came out with Athlon 64 x2. But with very limited budget I can live with the Athlon LE-1640 2.7GHz.

Would I need the to do anything with the BIOS setting? I heard some say I need to update this after the swap? Will the stock the cpu fan be ok with the new Athlon? Any tools I need to take the old Sempron? As you can see not done this before but any help will be usefull.

Cheers

Racingzone

racingzone

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2010
why are you settling for a still weak chip.?
with a BIOS update you have more options of cpu's to choose from.
you can find good deals on better chips on newegg or even eBay.
the fastest chips for your c521 and I specify c521 not e521....
is a brisbane class 5600+ (2.9Ghz), the best 65watt cpu athlon 64x2 they made.
there are windsor class athlon 64x2 but they require more power.