Splicing a fan into a SATA power cord.

Status
Not open for further replies.

roinujnomma

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2010
I own an HP Slimline s3127c, and am annoyed at how loud the cpu cooler can get at high temps. So, to keep temps in the case at a minimum, I am going to cut a hole in the side and put a 120mm fan there (Similar to what this guy did on -http://hardforum.com:80/showthread.php?p=1034241822-). The problem is, there are no extra fan headers on the mobo, and no molex connectors on the PSU. I am new to working with computers, and in the near future plan on building a gaming rig. For now I have to deal with this hunk of junk. I need to splice the fan into a SATA power cord, but don't know how. Advice?

Solution
It's pretty easy to manufacture your own Molex connectors & cables.

Try to find a store that supplies the pins and connectors e.g.:

http://www.frys.com/product/1651337?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Examine up-close one of the pins, and strip wires enough
to "crimp" the exposed wire section.

Then, there should be a second set of clamps
to crimp the insulated part of the wire.

Finally, insert each pin into the correct hole
in the Molex connector.

Proper Molex pins have "fan-out" fins that
compress while being inserted into the connector hole,
then expand to resist removal.

You'll need some extra yellow and black wire,
and you'll need to splice them with the corresponding
wires on one of your SATA power cables.

You don't really...

hellwig

Distinguished
May 29, 2008
The only available power cord is SATA? When you say there are no molex, does that mean at all, or just no free molex connectors? If there are Molex in there that are used, get a Molex Y-Adapter/Splitter. If not, buy one of these to convert that SATA power to Molex (much safer than splicing into the cable):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812816038&cm_re=sata_to_molex-_-12-816-038-_-Product