Sign in with
Your question

First time boot fail, psu clicks - nothing else

Last response: in Systems
August 2, 2010 7:28:14 PM

Problem: First Time Boot... no lights or anything, the PSU gives a "click" sound and the fan turns slightly then stops and nothing else happens.

First I'll get this out of the way quickly..

Case Antec Illusion 300
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD3
Processor: i5-750
PSU: Antec EA 650W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS 500GB
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800))
GPU: XFX Radeon 5770
Asus SATA 24X DVD Burner

I'm a first time builder, so minor mistakes may be the problem but I have essentially followed to letter a "How To" build using Will Smith's video from Tested.Com (http://www.tested.com/news/video-how-to-build-the-best-...) as well as cross referenced it with Tecmo's how-to right here on Tom's Hardware (http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/274745-31-step-step-g...).

Any suggestions or steps I should take?
a b B Homebuilt system
August 2, 2010 7:30:52 PM

First step, check fuse in psu,
do you have an alternative psu you can use to check rest of system?
Failing that, find the breadboarding sticky on the top of this homebuilt list,
Moto
a b B Homebuilt system
August 2, 2010 7:32:01 PM

With the power cord unplugged from the wall, verify that all your power cables are properly and firmly seated, including the 8-pin CPU connector, and the CPU/HSF connector.
Related resources
August 2, 2010 7:46:50 PM

Motopsychojdn said:
First step, check fuse in psu,
do you have an alternative psu you can use to check rest of system?
Failing that, find the breadboarding sticky on the top of this homebuilt list,
Moto

I do not have a spare PSU, unfortunately, to check the system. I'll check into the bread-boarding though as I think that might help me see where the problem lies.

treefrog07 said: