First time boot fail, psu clicks - nothing else

Wayward

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2009
Problem: First Time Boot... no lights or anything, the PSU gives a "click" sound and the fan turns slightly then stops and nothing else happens.

First I'll get this out of the way quickly..

Case Antec Illusion 300
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD3
Processor: i5-750
PSU: Antec EA 650W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS 500GB
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800))
GPU: XFX Radeon 5770
Asus SATA 24X DVD Burner

I'm a first time builder, so minor mistakes may be the problem but I have essentially followed to letter a "How To" build using Will Smith's video from Tested.Com (http://www.tested.com/news/video-how-to-build-the-best-1500-gaming-pc-step-by-step/152/) as well as cross referenced it with Tecmo's how-to right here on Tom's Hardware (http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/274745-31-step-step-guide-building).

Any suggestions or steps I should take?

Wayward

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2009

I do not have a spare PSU, unfortunately, to check the system. I'll check into the bread-boarding though as I think that might help me see where the problem lies.

All the psu cables seem to be properly seated.

From PSU --> Optical Drive, Hard Drive (via SATA)
From PSU --> MB (via 8pin + 24pin)
From PSU --> GPU (via 6pin PCI-Express)
From PSU --> Case Fans (via Molex)

... hopefully I'm providing the right sort of information. If more information is needed let me know.

Did you verify the CPU/HSF power cable (3 or 4-wire) is properly connected to the "cpu_fan" connector on the motherboard? If so, go to the breadboarding phase.
-- If you get through POST there, you should check your stand-offs and screws to be sure you are using the correct mounting holes, and there is nothing shorting your motherboard to the case/chassis.
-- If still no POST, then is sounds like you have a bad PSU.

Wayward

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2009

Woo, something simple - whew.