Win 7 64 bit freeze up after startup

spyder0314

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2010
Hello, about a month ago, i started to build my pc, everything is going well until about a month later when i bought gtx 460. I started playing few games, everythings good, until I played bad company 2 for about 20 minutes when it just froze on me. After that everything went downhill from there. Now even if i don't play a game it'll just freeze right after startup. Sometimes a few minutes, sometimes it might take to close to an hour. I did everything that I can to fix it. Reseat everything, reinstall operating system, memory placement, using the onboard videocard, etc. As far as i know everything is up to date, bios, drivers, etc. Also a good number of times I also experince some freezing when my phone received a text message, it seems like its also sensitive to rf. Not all the time but sometimes it does freeze right after. When I go to safe mode, I don't experience any freeze at all, so it could be a driver issue? my friend is telling me maybe its the cpu, mobo or memory? Help plz, Thank you.

Pc specs:
Asus m4a785td-evo
Amd phenom II 555
evga gtx 460 768mb
gskill ripjaws ddr3 pc12800 1600 4gb 2x2
cooler master 690 II
thermaltake black widow 850w/antec earthwatts 500w
seagate 250G
lite-on dvd burner

COLGeek

Cybernaut
What you are describing sounds like one of two problems: heat and/or power.

If you are OCing anything, go back to default until the problem is solved.

Verify that all of your fans are indeed working and that your airflow is good. Pay particular attention to the fan on your GPU.

When the system is operational, how do the temps look? Are you getting any artifacting (distorted display) before it dies?

BTW, don't worry about the cell RF stuff. Most PCs will pickup in/out-bound signals and it is usually not an issue unless you are setting your phone right on your PC or its components. Simply move the phone away from your PC.