New Builder - New Builder Win7 Load Driver for IDE

Ctowndan

Distinguished
May 31, 2011
Hi

I'm a first time builder. The key components are Gigabyte GA-880GM-D2H motherboard, Athlon X2 255, 4GB DDR3 1333 memory, Western Digital Cavier 500MB drive.

Got everything put together, BIOS sees everything. I can boot up installer for Windows 7 32-bit CD and Windows 7 64bit installer from Flash USB drive. In both scenarios, Win 7 Installer shows on DVI connected monitor.

I have had the Onchip SATA controller set for Enabled/IDE as well as disabled - defaults to basic IDE mode.

In all scenarios, when I get to the Windows 7 install to select the drive to install, it does not show anything and says I have to load drivers as "No Drives Were Found".

I looked on the Gigabyte website and did not see any drivers for IDE. (though there were some for RAID which I am not using)

I have tried another drive that I know works - BIOS sees it (both at same time) but Win7 installer does not. I have switched SATA cables with no luck. I have used all the SATA ports (1-4) on the motherboard - no differences.

On one hand, I think I have tried everything but am worried I am overlooking some basic silly thing. not sure if it's a driver issue, motherboard issue, drive issue, cable issue, BIOS setup ...

Can anyone provide some help/guidance for a new builder? My wife is asking me - why didn't you just buy an HP?

Thanks

Dan