Upgrading from Gateway FX6800

wontial

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2010
I've seen quite a few articles here concerning the BIOS adjustments in Gateway FX6800 PC - which you can't adjust at all, providing no OC options even with the latest BIOS update.

Reading through some more articles and finding relevant information on the net I was able to find that the TBGM01 motherboard (The manufacturer's motherboard that comes with Gateway FX6800) was flawed.

So I'm thinking about getting a new motherboard and upgrading parts that could fit the Gateway FX6800 case and be compatible with hardwares already in the system.

The thing is, I'm a beginner in this hardware thing at best so I was looking for some advice and feedbacks from those who have already undergone the similar process with the FX6800.

Here's my current specification.

Model - Gateway FX6800-09

TBGM01 X58 Chipset Motherboard
750W Delta PSU
Intel Core i7 920 2.67 GHz
6.00 GB RAM (DDR3 PC3-10700H)
Radeon HD 5970

and for more detailed information - http://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/gateway-fx-6800-09/1707-3118_7-33529097.html

I want to get a 1) new motherboard 2) new main cooler, and I am also thinking of getting 3) a new RAM.

For the Motherboard, I've read other article on tomshardware that Asus Rampage II Gene is a good micro-atx motherboard that can fit in the FX6800 case, work with i7 and is good for overclocking.
I'm just worried if I would be able to get the old one out and change it to the new one without too much trouble. It looked like a real hassle with all those threatening cables.

For a new cooler, I have no clue. Since I'd like to OC my cpu I'm guessing that I would be needing a decent enough cooler, but I'm not even sure what kind of size I'm supposed to get (120mm? I know its bigger than a 80mm fan)

For a new RAM, I'm stumped. PC3 ram over 12800 seems vaguelly way better than what I currently have but I'm not sure if it really is necessary.