Whats a better Option?

I have used reviews here for ages, but this will be my first post.

I am a student in the IT Field, and am looking to put together a new custom rig. I went on newegg.com and put together a parts list, after which I stared at the price in shame.

As a student I have access to a copy of Windows Server 2008 R2 which I intend to use. This machine will basically be an all purpose personal development box (it'll be a network storage server, VM Webhost, and gaming machine, if not all at once).

So, here is the parts list:

Intel Core i7 930
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard (The newer one with proper triple channel support)
Cooler Master HAF-X Computer Case (Seriously, I've looked at lots of cases but this is pretty much perfect)
2x GTX 460 EVGA Superclocked in SLI
Corsair HX Series 1000 W Modular PSU
128 GB SSD with SATA III support (Newegg has a nicely priced one from Crucial)
12 GB DDR3 1066

I've done my homework and learned from benchmarks and reviews that the RAM speed of 1066 is plenty, and the 1600 builds are both more expensive for less gain (like under a 5% improvement for a much higher cost). Since I obviously intend to make use of every bit of the system, I was thinking I would go with 12 GB of RAM, another reason for this is that my current machine has 8 GB and I don't know whether that'd count as an upgrade if I only got 6 GB, but any suggestions are more than welcome. I also do not intend to overclock the CPU, which is why I'm going with the 930 as opposed to the 920.

Now here is the newegg parts list:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220378
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148348
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115225
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139007
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130567
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128423