My First Build - Opinions/Criticisms/Suggestions Please

whatadai

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2010
Please rate, give your opinion/criticisms/suggestions for my build. This is my first build and I gave myself a $1,500 budget for the computer only, not including the monitor and other accessories. I know I could've probably saved around $100 if I had just gotten certain deals right before or right after I bought certain parts or if I didn't live in Califiornia. The total cost of each item includes any tax, shipping & handling, and rebates.

CPU: Intel Core i7 Processor i7-930 2.80GHz 8 MB LGA1366 CPU - $217.49
Motherboard: P6T LGA 1366 X58 ATX Motherboard - $250.11
RAM: DDR3 6GB (3x2GB) 1600MHz C7 CORSAIR - $177.49
GPU: XFX RADEON HD 5870 1GB DDR5 HDMI Graphics Card - $389.99
HD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST31000528AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - $65.24
Cooling: Thermalright U120E-RT-775 Ultra 120 Extreme Heatpipe CPU Cooler w/ Fan and Shroud for Intel LGA775, 1366 - $60.64
Chassis: Antec Three Hundred Mid Tower ATX Computer Case - $54.36
PSU: Antec TruePower New TP-550 550W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.3 / EPS12V V2.91 - Bought 3-4 years ago for around $50
Optical: LITE-ON 24X SATA DVD-RW - $21.74
Thermal Compound: Arctic Silver 5 - $10.86

Total: $1,297.92

Monitor: Dell SP2309W - $233.49
Speakers: Creative Inspire T3130 - $33.49
Mouse: Logitech MX518 - $20.88
Headset: Teknmotion TM-YB100A - $21.74
HDMI Cable: Rosewill 6" HDMI Cable - $5.99

Total: $315.59

Grand Total: $1,613.51

The PSU was cheap because I bought another Antec PSU 450w from NewEgg way back then with a rebate. The PSU died a week after and I RMAed it to NewEgg, who didn't have the PSU in stock anymore and allowed me to pick the Antec Truepower 550w to replace it. I am forever grateful for NewEgg.