SH67H3 and some RAM Questions

aleksancevski

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2011
I am looking to build a Shuttle SH67H3 for my mother. She doesn't need it for much, I just want to upgrade the 8 year old P4 that we have at the house. Currently, newegg is sold out of the shuttle barebones kit but they have an ETA of June 14. So I figure I could buy the ram, HD, and dvd drive (I can get the processor for $20 cheaper at microcenter). So i bought a western digital blue 500 GB 7200 rpm HD, an ASUS 24x dvd burner, and a dual channel set of ram from G. Skill (DDR3 1333 PC3 10666).
this one here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231189

I have never built a Shuttle XPC before and actually it has been 8 years since i built my last computer (and by built, i mean i had a lot of help from a friend) Today, I went on the feedback for newegg and I noticed that someone posted all of their specs and they mentioned a "memory compatibility list" So I go and look at it, and of course my ram isn't their. They have stuff similar like a set from Corsair that is close:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145198

The difference is the "compatible" one has a cas latency of 9 and the one I ordered is an 8. Also, the corsair is 1.6v while the one i ordered is 1.5v. They are both Dual channel, DDR3 1333 PC3 10666. I just assumed that since it said it was compatible with DDR3 1333 that they were all good (stupid assumption, i know now) but they have "compatible" ram that is way faster as well.

My question is: Am I totally screwed on this RAM i ordered? Or should I wait, and try it out to see if it will work once I am able to order the barebones kit? The package is supposed to arrive on the 7th so that gives me a week to return it before I order the SH67H3.

Solution