Best Hard Drive Options in BIOS

Opal

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2009
Hi All,

I'm currently putting together my first build. I'm a bit undecided as to what setting to apply to the hard drive. I would like to have the option to add a second hard drive as a backup later on. In BIOS, should I use IDE, RAID or AHCI? And could I just use an external hard drive as a backup or would an internal be better?

This is my first time using SATA. In the past, when I used two hard drives, it was IDE and in a master/slave configuration and the cable connected the two. I have a bare drive with no jumpers, so I'm a bit confused.

TIA!

Opal

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2009
I'm using Windows 7.

I wanted to know what would be better because I read that after Win 7 is installed, the hard drive setting couldn't be changed. I don't have an extra hard drive now, but I might add one later on and I just wanted the best option. This is my first build and I don't want to mess anything up.

mikey5802

Distinguished
Jun 26, 2009

Without having any specs (Mobo, make and model of HDD's) to go by, I'd suggest you use AHCI. It allows for advanced software use (command queing, etc). Setting up a RAID array require two or more drives but can be problematic if you don't have drives specifically designed for use in a RAID environment. It has to do with error recovery (known as TLER), which can cause a drive to drop out of an array under certain conditions. But, (knock on wood), I've had a RAID array going on two older WD drives that aren't certified for RAID but have worked just fine. Many people recommend that if you're going to have a RAID array on your system, that you NOT use it for the OS.

1haplo

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2007
Yes you can have more the 1 drive under AHCI, AHCI is just a interface you can have as many drives are you have ports, each drive will be available in windows. you can add drive at any point after you install Windows.