(My first build) PC that can play SC 2 and be reliable and expandable

DanDief

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2010
Hi all, I am a newbie when it comes to computer hardware. I've done a little research but there's so much to wrap one's head around so I definitely need advice. Here's the form:

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: within a month

BUDGET RANGE: $1000 max, cheaper if possible

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Starcraft 2, music, I may want to get a TV tuner later, I may want to run programs such as MATLAB later (calculation intensive software)

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I need everything

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com, amazon.com

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: US

PARTS PREFERENCES: no preference

OVERCLOCKING: I doubt it

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe in the future

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I really want the computer so that SC 2 plays well. The settings don't have to be maxed out necessarily, but I would like it to look good at the monitors recommended resolution. I would also like the system to be made with reliable parts and last me for maybe 5 years, which means I want to be able to upgrade it later. I would also like the PC to be as quiet as possible. Below is a list of the components I have selected.

Processor: I chose the AMD Athlon X3 445 because I believe it is enough to play SC 2 well, because it uses the newer AM3 socket which means I'll be able to upgrade the processor well into the future, and because I might be able to unlock the 4th core with the motherboard

Graphics: Radeon HD 5750 because it was one of Tom's Hardware's best Graphics card for the money in July and I believe it can play SC2 alright.

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-890FXA-UD5 because it has lots of newer features such as the 890FX chipset, and USB 3.0 etc and because it has alot of expansion slots for anything I might want to add, like a better sound card or TV tuner card. I heard Gigabyte boards are also very good quality.