(OS to SSD) So, how the heck do I do this?

So, how the heck do I get Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit from the laptop I just bought onto an SSD? I'd really like to do this without reinstalling windows, or getting rid of the recovery partition on the HDD that is in it.

I currently have a terabyte HDD in my Envy 17 and would like to install an SSD into it.

Since my laptop can support 2 drives:
Is there a way of getting windows from the 1TB HDD that it is installed on, to a SSD without wiping it?
Can I have Windows on the HDD and on the SSD at the same time? But only boot from the SSD drive?
Can someone guide me through the steps of doing this (if any of it is possible)?
Can W7 just be copied over to the SSD? While keeping the programs on the HDD?
Can I run programs off of the HDD, while just using the SSD for windows?

Sorry for all of the questions, I'm an SSD noob! [:lutfij:2]

Area51 indeed correctly stated- Best is to do a clean install.

If dead set on Migrating OS (cloning is sector copy and NOT recommended) take a look at EasyUS or EZ-Gig-II (or IV). Prefer EZ-gig (about $18 @ newegg), but then EasyUS is a freebee. Have used both, EZ-Gig-II was a freebee with one of my SSDs.

Question on running programs from HDD, if You are talking about - If you are talking about booting to OS on SSD and running programs that were install on the HDD OS - Not only NO, but HEL_ NO.
And Yes if you are talking about when installing programs on the OS on The SSD, can you direct them to install on the HDD and run from SSD - YES.

giovanni86

Distinguished
May 10, 2007
I never done a HDD to SSD but i got a friends OS going from HDD to HDD by using http://www.xxclone.com/idwnload.htm