Just bought the GTX 470

Domc328

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2010
Hey all, this is my first time posting on the site. Although im a frequent reader of the forums when i need to know something, ive never taken it upon myself to sign up and post. Given that i just bought the new GTX 470 card i think it is time to share my thoughts and get some good advice. Turns out i started working this summer and was able to earn a good amount of money so far in a short amount of time. Mind you im 16 still. Well i decided to splurge yesterday after being at bestbuy the other day and seeing the 470. I picked up the last one their and decided to ignore some posts i read about how my E8400 C2D could potentially bottleneck my card and just went head over heels in. I decided if i might get a bottleneck i may as well OC my CPU. Its a very easy process for anyone intrested in doing so if you dont know already, i got to 3.6ghz in all of 15 minutes without any errors. I didnt really stress test my cpu to long because i was very anxious to pop in the 470. All goes over smooth and i get the card in without a hitch. First off all i can say is how much more vibrant the colors got on my screen and how much clearer it looked then my old 8800 GTS 640 card. Now i decide to play a bit of MW2 for a bit to see what the tempatures run at with auto fan on. After a round the GPU was around 85c, now in my opinion that's way to high for any gpu ever, but everyone insists that it is ok and yada yada yada... Well i decide to let my brother and his friend play a few rounds and i came back to check the temps and they maxed out at 101c while playing. Now i dont care what anyone says to me that is just not good. I've been playing around with the fan controls and i'd like to know if anyone has any advice on what i should run the fans at when playing games. Ive found so far that 80% tends to keep it in the 80-85c area. If anyone has any input on this please feel free to tell me. Thanks!

Core2Duo OC 3.6ghz