Best motherboards for gaming/overclocking on P67 or Z68?

Goatman666

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2011
Hi guys, I am a rookie pc builder and are having great difficulty choosing a motherboard!. So far, I have a Antec DF-85 case and an i5 2500k chip. This pc will be used for gaming (2 x GTX560ti) is my plan but ant advice is welcome. I also plan on learning a bit of overclocking along the way. From what I read, this unlocked chip can chase (and sometimes better 5ghz! So I really need some advice on what motherboard will give me the best chance at chasing 5ghz and an overall great motherboard. Which brings me to my next dillema!........P67 or Z68?? PLEASE HEEEEEELLLP

The chipset doesn't matter. Both P67 and Z68 will give good overclocking results and good gaming performance.

Suggested boards:
ASRock P67 Extreme4
ASUS P8P67 Pro
Gigabyte P67A-UD4
MSI P67A-GD65
...or their Z68 equivalents.

Goatman666

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2011

Thanks very much mate! Fairly new to all this but super keen to get my case filled asap! Cheers

chesteracorgi

Distinguished
All of Leaps suggestions are good choices. They are relatively close in price. IMO ASRock is the features/price champ currently, but that depends if you include sale specials. One thing though, ASRock includes in its UEFI a OC stepping to 4.8 Ghz for an i5 2500K. The settings are easy TO set up as the UEFI takes care of all the voltage and RAM settings for you. I'd ask other members if a particular brand includes pre-set OC'ing to 4.8 on the 2500K if you want to compare the best OC.

My answer would depend upon what features you are looking for:

1. Warranty - What are you expecting here ? Some enthusiast boards, like the Asus Sabertooth offer a 5 year warranty. Th industry standard is 3 years which is provided with most mid range to hi end boards from Asus, Gigabyte, MSI, EVGA, etc. Asrock on the other hand offers on;ly a 1 year warranty on most of their boards, the B3 1155 based boards from Asrock have a 2 year warranty.