System for 3D Rendering of game models

aldrinstorm

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2007
I'm starting up a small game design studio for the purpose of creating 3d games for both the computer and smartphones.

I'm needing to buy a couple computers for the engineers and I don't want to go with dell because they never seem to show the performance that I need.

I'm a home builder, but have been out of the loop (not built a machine in 2 years) on what parts work well together.

Could some of you help me out to create a couple machines that could handle 3d rendering and game programming well.

Right now im running an outdated system:
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
2gb ram
intel core 2 4300 1.80ghz (i know its old)

Software that will be ran is:

Unity3d 2 (upgrading to Unity3)
Blender 2.53

And must be good at running dual monitors

Price limit on tower alone is $1000 (less expensive would be preferable)

Please let me know of some good builds or if there are some prebuilt systems that are equally good

CefVil

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2009
Hi

Here's a quick build I made at newegg:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff186/cefthecef/pc.png

$980

You can still cut some bucks by changing the RAM to 4 or 6GB's but I think that while doing some high poly modeling, rendering and animations you'd like to have 8 or even 16GB's to work fluently.

I used a Radeon HD instead of a Quadro or a FirePro for two reasons, one because using one of those would raise the price almost to double, and because I've been doing some 3D using a simple GTS 250 and so far have had no problems while rendering or modeling.

Also that GPU has support for dual-screens.

I'm no guru, so I can't say this is the best build you'll have for the price, but I can surely say it's one I'd like to have to work well on 3d's Max or Zbrush, not to mention it can even be used as a gaming machine if you please.

Cheers

.C.

aldrinstorm

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2007
thanks a bunch for the reply.

I never used ATI before