My first build, compatible?

Boo44

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2010
Hey there. this is my first time building a computer and i found a great combo deal that i felt is pretty good for a gaming pc. since it was a combo deal i assumed everything would be compatible but as i read on i see "newegg doesnt guarantee compatibility of combo deals"

then my friend told me about this place and that you all knew what you were talking about, so here i am. here is the link to the combo deal: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.476024 so is it compatible?

Thanks.

Boo44

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2010
yeah i was a little concerned about the graphics card but since there was 2 of them i thought it would be ok, but like i said this is my first time so i dont really know a whole lot heh.

Guillotine

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2010
Yeah, it's compatible. It's also a rather horrible build, and you can get a far better build for a much lower price if you buy individual components.

For example - the CPU is an overkill, an i5-750 (or i5-760 for 10$ more) is more than adequate for any needs you're ever going to need. You also don't need an X58 motherboard, P55's are fantastic and allow for virtually any configuration you'd ever want (well, I'm assuming you're not planning on quad-SLI setups anytime soon). The GPU is pretty outdated, and I'm pretty sure you'll start feeling its age very soon as new games like Crysis 2 get released.

Anyways, if what you're looking for a great gaming PC that's as future-proof as you can get without splurging ridiculous amounts of money, I suggest this:

NVIDIA ‎Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - 230$
Intel Core i5-750 - 195$
MSI P55-GD65 - $139.99 after $20.00 Mail-In Rebate
Crucial 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1333 - 94$
Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB - 75$
Cooler Master 690 Black - 60$
SeaSonic X650W Gold X-Series - 140$