colosssus

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2010
Hi, this is my first time posting in these forums, though i have read through them on occasion. I'm having a problem that has so far stumped 8 A+ technicians. It's a little long, but i'll start from the beginning to try to give you guys as much info as possible. Alright, it all started when my dads video card got stolen (somehow) out of his computer. We had been considering upgrading our video card for awhile so we gave him ours, and reverted back to our old video card, which died about a week later. My system at the time consisted of, a Nzxt tempest case, 800w power up power supply, MSI p6n diamond mobo, q6600 Intel cpu, 4gbs of ram, (2gb Kingston value ram, 2 gb OCZ gold ram), a butterfly cpu cooler(with the original fan removed and a cheap fan put on as the sensor had gone on it), and a d-link dwa 556 wireless card.

We opted to go with an Evga gtx 465 video card, and upon installation, found that for some reason the wireless card was not being recognized by windows, and if we removed, then re-added it, it would turn on, find the network, identify it, then disappear again. Somehow, that situation magically corrected itself. About a week later we got an Ultra chiltec cpu cooler that had been used for a really great price. We thought it would be a good idea to swap out the butterfly since the fan had already gone on it. So we swapped that, turned everything on and it seemed fine. As we were doing some cable management on it, my wife touched the side of the power supply with a side case fan cord and the system suddenly shut off. After restarting it, the system would continuously restart over and over. We tried removing other case fans and such but to no avail, so we took it into her work at Tigerdirect. Oddly enough the system seemed stable, and for 5 days they could not recreate the problem, running benchmarks and stress tests.