HD5850 + Q6600

garry__

Distinguished
Mar 20, 2010
Hey guys, had a question about my PC which has been bugging me lately a lot.

I was wondering if my computer if functioning at its fullest.

I have the following:

HD5850 (Asus Version)
Q6600 OC'd to 3.2
4GB Ram (667..I think it's the problem)
1920x1080 Screen Resolution
EP45-UD3P Mobo
Win7 64bit

~~~

So, it seems like I can't run ANY games at playable settings with this setup with good FPS and no choppyness (WoW, Dragon Age, Alpha Protocol, TF2, Red Faction, GTAIV, ect...).

I think it's my ram that's holding me back, as I've read everywhere that a Q6600 OC'd should be able to hold up every card (except SLI or XFIRE) without any bottleneck.

I have very little knowledge on RAM so but I still think it's causing these issues -- I'm using (x2) 2GIG Buffalo 667 ram sticks.

~~~

I ran some benchmarks on 3DMark06 to compare and this is what I got:

3DMark Score 15136 3DMarks
SM 2.0 Score 5708
SM 3.0 Score 7647
CPU Score 3959

~~~

Are these results normal? Am I expecting too much from my system? Or is there a bottleneck somewhere here? There are no overheating issues too, to be noted.

Any help or ideas would greatly be appreciated, thanks. :)

mcnuggetofdeath

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2008
If you can't get playable framerates in TF2 then I think your problem lies outside your RAM. It's caching what it can't cache in VRAM, and bringing that up to be used by the game is more dependant on latency than total bandwidth because its not starved for the later. If you feel like messing with it, changing your timings might net you some speed all around. For now I'd check your settings in game, and reinstall your drivers after cleaning them out with a driver cleaner. Wish I could be more helpful. Be aware that some games suffer from Micro-Stuttering and have to be fixed on a game by game basis. IE fallout 3

garry__

Distinguished
Mar 20, 2010