Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need help choosing a new GFX card

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 3, 2010 6:53:10 AM

Hi there, i'm new here(thought i had registered a long time ago)

I'm building a new PC (Gaming PC) and have planned for the following setup:
1.AMD Phenom II X4 or X6 (depending on cash+significant performance difference)
2.8GB Ram
3.Asus M3 Socket SLI/Crossfire mobo
4.HDD 1TB
5.Creative Sound Card
6.18.5 Inch Monitor
7.and all other small things

I'm still thinking of about which GPU to buy, and getting a new 6-7 X100 PSU isn't a big deal, but i will use dual GPUs.

Correct me if i am wrong, but doesn't the GPU performance also matter on the resulution of the monitor?

According to that even 9800GTX+ should do good for future game releases.

Also i was thinking of which GPU to buy, i've never used ATI before and heard that ATI is good too.

I'm planning to get my new rig in about a month or so, please help me choose a good gaming card.

Games i'll play are probably GTA IV, Assassin's Creed 1,2,Brotherhood, and Just Cause 2 basically third person games but not something like Crysis.

Thank you.

More about : choosing gfx card

a c 169 U Graphics card
July 3, 2010 7:19:46 AM

Hello and welcome to the forums :) 
You are right,the GPU performance depends on the resolution that you play too.
What is the resolution of your monitor? because you may not need 2 cards.
m
l
July 3, 2010 8:46:36 AM

1366 x 768 <--- getting a bigger monitor won't be a problem either, i just thought 18.5" would be good for wide-screen as i hate the stretched-out graphics on these new LCDs, the old 4:3 were better. Also i want 2 GPUs because i would like to make my system like...sort of ready for future game releases.
m
l
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
July 3, 2010 9:33:21 AM

many people think that SLI or CF are great, yes they are but there are times when they perform lower than a single gpu due to micro-stuttering.