How important is Defragmentation really?

G

Hi.... im new in the IT area and also in a new company as First Level Supporter, when it comes down to productive environments.
A working college of mine was complaining about her computer that the pc gets slower and slower, week by week. (From Boot to Desktop 10 minutes, most loading time is while desktop including shortcuts are already visible on screen but you cant do stuff cause its all loading and loading and loading.)

So i did the standard procedure.... malware/virus check, profile size (only 2gb in size) process monitoring, network monitoring, etc, etc.... i found nothing.

So i thought... well lets check the HDD.... maybe this is the choke point.

HDD total size is around 100 GB !!NO SSD!!
Used space around 33 GB
Framentation 70% :ouch: (With auslogic defrag)

The defrag software showed a loooooot red...
When i asked for permission in my IT office to run a defrag a college said "Well 70% is nothing to worry about and defrag wont help a lot when it comes down to performance.

Now i want to ask for some other opinions here.....
What do you guys think about defrag on normaly NTFS Harddiscs? My opinion was so far that you still should do it from time to time.... but enlighten me if im wrong. :D

Thank you!

It all depends on work load.

The biggest problem with fragmentation is that is makes the hard drive have to go all over when it wants to read a fragmented file sequentially(in order. Lets say loading an image).

Now if it is already doing random reads(lets say an MMO game that has elements from many places in the games files), you may not even notice the fragmentation because the head is jumping all over any way.

Either way, I still defrag hard drives from time to time. If anything, moving data towards the outer edge of the disk speeds up read/write operations and help make large sections of open space if you need to do some sequential writing.

Multitasking it self can lead to fragmentation as well.