Sign in with
Your question

Is partitioning necessary?

Last response: in Storage
November 2, 2012 7:58:32 PM

many people have mixed opinions across the internet so i was hoping for a knowledgeable answer from one of you guys.
im mainly using my pc for gaming and storing music on, i will be backing it all up on an external HD as well as using icloud. therefore is it really necessary to partition into multiple drives???, if windows goes wrong and its all backed up i am not that bothered about completely formatting the hd.
many thanks

More about : partitioning

a c 317 G Storage
November 2, 2012 8:09:43 PM

IMO hard drive partitions are not necessary or useful. You can usually do a repair installation that saves your programs and data, just requiring all Windows updates to be re-installed. Between that and good backup practices, you should be fine.
November 2, 2012 8:17:00 PM

thanks realbeast, im new to all this, having just built my first gaming pc and its awesome!
i just want to check on everything im not sure on, another query i have is when installing hardware drivers will windows device manager be reliable and offer the latest drivers or should i go directly to the manufactures website and manually download it from there?
Related resources
November 2, 2012 8:27:08 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Disk_partitioning#Benefits...

Partitioning is most useful if you have large amount of free hard drive space, and want to squeeze extra read/write performance out of a mechanical hard drive.

It is not recommended if the HDD is close to full, as partitioning tends to use space less efficiently.
a b G Storage
November 2, 2012 9:09:37 PM

I usually partition and put the O/S in its own section. Then I can image it for backups to an external drive or reinstall the O/S with out affecting the rest of the drive.
a b G Storage
November 6, 2012 1:41:47 PM