help: connect to share - credentials stay

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.configuration_manage (More info?)

i can't believe i have to go to a newsgroup for this, but
all i tried so far, failed:

---
in simple: a shared folder i once connected to, can be freely
re-accessed even after a logout. how can i clear that credential
or in first place, not have the user/pass cached?


---
in detail:

the setup is a couple of xp boxes. one (S) shares a critical
folder, to wich the others can connect using the administrator
account and pass of the box that shares (S).

then i connected from a second box (C) to that share (browsing the
workgroup) without checking the 'store password' box when entering
username/pass. the problem now: although i logged out from that client
account whenever i log in, the account can browse the workgroup and
freely access the critical folder (S) without being asked for
a password.


1. how can i clear that credential for good?

2. how can i make 100% sure that a password is not cached somewhere
when i access a share and thus make the share avaialable to
anyone logging in after me??


any hints deeply appreciated
7 answers Last reply
More about help connect share credentials stay
  1. Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.configuration_manage (More info?)

    This article may help.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;304040

    --
    Regards,

    Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows]
    http://www.microsoft.com/protect

    "Allan Rydberg" wrote:
    |
    | i can't believe i have to go to a newsgroup for this, but
    | all i tried so far, failed:
    |
    | ---
    | in simple: a shared folder i once connected to, can be freely
    | re-accessed even after a logout. how can i clear that credential
    | or in first place, not have the user/pass cached?
    |
    |
    | ---
    | in detail:
    |
    | the setup is a couple of xp boxes. one (S) shares a critical
    | folder, to wich the others can connect using the administrator
    | account and pass of the box that shares (S).
    |
    | then i connected from a second box (C) to that share (browsing the
    | workgroup) without checking the 'store password' box when entering
    | username/pass. the problem now: although i logged out from that client
    | account whenever i log in, the account can browse the workgroup and
    | freely access the critical folder (S) without being asked for
    | a password.
    |
    |
    | 1. how can i clear that credential for good?
    |
    | 2. how can i make 100% sure that a password is not cached somewhere
    | when i access a share and thus make the share avaialable to
    | anyone logging in after me??
    |
    |
    | any hints deeply appreciated
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
    |
  2. Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.configuration_manage (More info?)

    thanks for the hint, but that only describes the process and
    access permissions. what i am looking for, is where connection
    credentials are stored (sharing system or client system?) and
    how a specific credential can be erased.

    to avoid misunderstandings, the way i connected the share was
    simply t ogo to network neigborhood, searched for the system,
    clicked on the share and entered that machines account (i.e.
    user/pass) which was not a duplicate account, nor was it a guest
    account that's publicly open....


    Dave Patrick wrote:

    > This article may help.
    >
    > http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;304040
    >
  3. Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.configuration_manage (More info?)

    Have a look in Control Panel|User Accounts|Advanced|Manage Passwords

    --
    Regards,

    Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows]
    http://www.microsoft.com/protect

    "Allan Rydberg" wrote:
    |
    |
    | thanks for the hint, but that only describes the process and
    | access permissions. what i am looking for, is where connection
    | credentials are stored (sharing system or client system?) and
    | how a specific credential can be erased.
    |
    | to avoid misunderstandings, the way i connected the share was
    | simply t ogo to network neigborhood, searched for the system,
    | clicked on the share and entered that machines account (i.e.
    | user/pass) which was not a duplicate account, nor was it a guest
    | account that's publicly open....
  4. Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.configuration_manage (More info?)

    thanks for your reply.

    the point is, it's not in there! the list is in fact empty.
    i found that only the password you specify xp to 'store' by
    clicking on the checkbox when you first connect, are listed
    in your network passwords and can be deleted there...


    Dave Patrick wrote:

    > Have a look in Control Panel|User Accounts|Advanced|Manage Passwords
    >
  5. Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.configuration_manage (More info?)

    Try changing the password.

    --
    Regards,

    Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows]
    http://www.microsoft.com/protect

    "Allan Rydberg" wrote:
    |
    |
    | thanks for your reply.
    |
    | the point is, it's not in there! the list is in fact empty.
    | i found that only the password you specify xp to 'store' by
    | clicking on the checkbox when you first connect, are listed
    | in your network passwords and can be deleted there...
  6. Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.configuration_manage (More info?)

    did that too. you won't believe it. as soon as i change it
    back, the stupid system 'remembers'... (and no, the two
    passwords are NOT the same...)


    Dave Patrick wrote:

    > Try changing the password.
    >
  7. Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.configuration_manage (More info?)

    Try deleting everything within;
    %USERPROFILE%\Application Data\Microsoft\Credentials\

    %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Credentials\

    --
    Regards,

    Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows]
    http://www.microsoft.com/protect

    "Allan Rydberg" wrote:
    |
    |
    |
    | did that too. you won't believe it. as soon as i change it
    | back, the stupid system 'remembers'... (and no, the two
    | passwords are NOT the same...)
Ask a new question

Read More

Configuration Connection Windows XP