Motherboard compatability

Phantys

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2011
Hello I'm quite new to computers, and I'm considering upgrading most aspects of my computer. I have a lot of questions because of it, so bare with me.

My motherboard is a K10N78-1394.

http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview. [...] 10N78-1394

The first question is concerning PSU, I have no idea what information I have to take from that page which will allow me to figure out which power supplys are compatible. I'm looking at getting 600/700w, would my current motherboard cope with that.

My second question is on ram, has far as I know my motherboard can use 4 x 4gb of ram 1066mhz. At the moment I currently have 2 x 2gb 677Mhz. Am I right in assuming I could add a '4gb 1066Mhz' to my current 4gb of ram, but the new ram would run at 677mhz.

Reason I'm asking this, is because I was going to upgrade slowly to 8gb, rather than buy 2 lots of 4gb ram straight away. Would I even be better off at running 8gb's at 677, instead of 4gb at 1066.

I'm sorry if this is a bit of a muddle, I've explained it as best as I can. I super appreciate anyone who can guide me to the answers i'm looking for even a tiny bit!

Thanks in advance.

I'm looking at getting 600/700w, would my current motherboard cope with that.

yes

Am I right in assuming I could add a '4gb 1066Mhz' to my current 4gb of ram, but the new ram would run at 677mhz.

NO

usually you need either 1, 2, or 4 sticks of memory plugged into a MOBO.

also the memory you are adding needs to match your current memory (timing, speed, etc...)

there is really no reason to have more than 8GB of memory on a home/workstation computer.

most games only use 4GB of memory.

running memory at 1066 depends on the CPU you have. usually needs to be a AM2+ or AM3 type CPU

Phantys

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2011
Thanks for the reply Emerald.