Avid gamer replacing his Nvidia 8800GT

dnehdnd

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2010
Hi! First, thank you for your time to read a complete beginner's worries.

I am a fair PC game player. Because I mainly play World of Warcraft, the graphic requirement even to play at max settings is not very high. For almost two years, I have used GeForce 8800GT OC. For a long time, the graphic card made clicking/flicking sounds which I assessed to be coming from its fan when running 3d graphics (but I could not resolve this after many attempts and research). Today, it is failing at a much more rapid rate, now making extremely loud noises and crashing the PC entirely with a blank solid color screen and irresponsive system.

Here, I say "That's enough."

I enjoyed 8800GT's performance, so I am not looking for anything more expensive / better. Although, I have 9800GT in mind as my new replacement.

I dream to have the affordable gaming pc that is just suited to my needs - web surfing, some media, and video games like WoW and Guild Wars in high quality. But I am a complete newb, and it scares me to look inside the computer. So I decided to list my computer spec in hope of getting ideas on how to replace my graphic card appropriately for my needs..

My PC was bought prebuilt with the following spec:

(CPU) Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.00GHz
(Graphic Card) BFG GeForce 8800GT OC nVidia 512MB
(Motherboard) ASUS P5QL PRO Core 2 Duo P43 Intel with PCI-Express
(Memory) I believe it has three 1GB sticks from Kingston. (DDR2-667)
(Power supply) Antec 500-watt max EA-500D
note: the 8800GT is connected to the power supply with a 6-pin plug.

If I lack any critical details, do mention them. Could anyone advise on which graphic card would be most suitable, any changes I may consider to improve my system to avoid further malfunctions, cautions, warnings, etc.? My recent concern was the overheating of the system, especially graphic card, but I do not know what is normal or too hot.